Did You Know?

Decades of research shows that expanding roads doesn’t provide lasting congestion relief. More lanes means more traffic.

The 2011 volunteer awards go to…

Last week Active Trans held a party to show appreciation for its enormous body of volunteers.

As a non-profit, Active Trans relies heavily on its volunteers to donate their time in order to/ operate successfully as an organization.

Active Trans volunteers provide community outreach, facilitate campaigns, fix bicycles, manage hotlines, and assist with special events and fundraisers, such as the annual MB Financial Bank Bike the Drive.

A massive “thank you” goes out to all of our hard-working volunteers from 2011, and an additional round of applause goes to the following individuals who received awards for their tireless work and commendable efforts.

Emerging Leader Award: Nate Ebenroth

Under the Radar Award: Rene Mueller/
Honorable Mention: Samuel Mosebach

John D’Ambrose Spirit of Volunteering Award: Al Sturgis and Bob Pautsch

Advocate Volunteer Award: Peggy Laemle, Kim Stone and Jason Berry

Events Volunteer Award: Elaine Jones
Honorable Mention: Martha Music, Bob Kastigar, and Rob Sindelar

Important Cog/Member of the Year Award: Chris Stacey

Honorable Mention: Lynn Newton